NaNoWriMo or GrammoWriMo?

desk:wall

Last year, I participated in and won NaNoWriMo, completing a 50,000 word manuscript in 30 days. It pushed my boundaries and challenged me to accomplish a feat I only imagined looming in the somewhat distant future. “Write a book” has been on my bucket list since I could hold a pen, and NaNoWriMo reaffirmed my identity as a writer. Now, another year has passed, November is days away, and I’m not sure I’m ready to dive in to NaNoWriMo. Then again, I didn’t sign up until October 31st last year, so I still have a week to make up my mind.

Should you do NaNoWriMo? I say “why not?” Give it the ol’ college try! It is a great experience for seasoned writers and budding novelists alike. But if the idea of writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days is too daunting (and you’d be crazy to say it isn’t at least a little bit daunting), look into GrammoWriMo. Organized by Grammarly, GrammoWriMo is organizing the largest group of authors to ever collaborate on a novel. But hurry, the deadline to signup is October 25th!

Read more:
NaNoWriMo day two: word vomit
NaNoWriMo: the bittersweet, not quite end

Leave a Reply

