blogs & blank pages

IMG_20140403_141950
Once a week, I open up a blank document. I’m going to write a blog. I’m not sure where to begin, but a cup of tea might help. I walk to the kitchen. I fill a pot with water from the sink. I place it on the stove. I turn the knob. After a few moments of clicking and snapping, the coils turn red. Waiting for the water to boil, I clip my toenails. I sweep the clippings up with a broom. I continue, sweeping under tables and desks. I pull dust bunnies from forgotten corners. I push this clump, this collection of clippings, dust, and dirt, into the corner of the kitchen. I make a mental note: buy a dustpan.

By now, the water has boiled for far too long. The tea is too hot to drink. I can’t write a blog unless I have a drinkable cup of tea. I set the cup on the windowsill. The breeze blows a waterfall of steam overboard. Waiting, I check my email. I scroll through social media pages. I fall asleep with eyes still on the screen. I am suddenly seated at some stranger’s wedding. The happy couple is all smiles. I’ve never met them. Wait, how did I get here?

An hour has passed. The tea is cold. The page is still blank.

One thought on “blogs & blank pages

  1. I think I know how you feel at times. When I’m writing a technical report I have to take advantage of the times I get on a roll. If I get interrupted and lose my train of thought, I might not get back on the roll I need to finish write the report the way I know it needs to be written for days, even a week or two. Unfortunately, deadlines being what they are I often have to force the issue because the report is needed before I get back into a groove. I’ll try the tea trick and see if it pays dividends.

Leave a Reply

